Eight new members to join Alumni Association board

By By Anne Roper

By Anne Roper

The U Alumni Association selected eight new board members during its annual meeting May 7.

The association also chose a new board president, Michele Mattsson, and vice president, Rex Thornton.

“We’ve been really impressed with the caliber of the new board members,” said Lindsay Allen, director of alumni relations. The new board members have backgrounds in such fields as education, finance and law.

Mattsson received her undergraduate and law degrees from the U and is presently the chief mediator for the Utah Court of Appeals. She has remained involved with the U by serving on the Crimson Club board and was formerly the president of the Interfraternity Alumni Association.

Thornton earned his undergraduate degree in accounting from the David Eccles School of Business and is currently the senior vice president and branch manager of the financial consulting firm D.A. Davidson.

The Alumni Association board is comprised of 24 members who assist the U through fundraising, legislation and community service.

The eight new board members are Greg Anderson, Barry Angstman, Jodie Bennion, Linda Dunn, John Firmage, Heidi Makowski, Keven Rowe and Liz Whitney.[email protected]