The University of Utah's Independent Student Voice

The Daily Utah Chronicle

The University of Utah's Independent Student Voice

The Daily Utah Chronicle

The University of Utah's Independent Student Voice

The Daily Utah Chronicle

Write for Us
Want your voice to be heard? Submit a letter to the editor, send us an op-ed pitch or check out our open positions for the chance to be published by the Daily Utah Chronicle.
Print Issues

U names researchers to hold Benning Endowed Chairs at Medical School

The U named four new researchers to hold the H.A. and Edna Benning Presidential Endowed Chairs at the U School of Medicine.

The four researchers are Jerry Kaplan, assistant vice president of basic science and associate dean of research, Wesley Sundquist, professor of biochemistry, J. Michael Dean, professor of pediatrics and Gerald Krueger, professor of dermatology.

The purpose of the Benning Chairs is “reward and recruitment,” so the U can continue to attract “top notch” researchers and recognize the continual research being done at the U, said John Edwards of the U’s Health Science Center for Development.

The Benning chair positions were formed in August 2005 after a donation of $22.5 million by the late Arthur E. Benning, former president and chairman of the board of Amalgamated Sugar, to the U School of Medicine.

The chair positions are given to “outstanding researchers doing outstanding research,” Edwards said.

One of the first duties of the new chair holders will be to recommend and fill the five remaining positions, which should happen sometime in 2006, said A. Lorris Betz, senior vice president for health sciences.

Benning named the donation after his parents and asked that the money be donated to researchers in different fields to fund their equipment needs and assistance, Edwards said.

The money does not, however, fund the researchers’ salaries.

These four new appointees will join the previously appointed chair holders, Stephen M. Prescott, professor of internal medicine, D. Ware Branch, professor of obstetrics and gynecology and Edwin Stevens, professor and chairman of radiology, and will also become the founding members of the Benning Society.

[email protected]

Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

We welcome feedback and dialogue from our community. However, when necessary, The Daily Utah Chronicle reserves the right to remove user comments. Posts may be removed for any of the following reasons: • Comments on a post that do not relate to the subject matter of the story • The use of obscene, threatening, defamatory, or harassing language • Comments advocating illegal activity • Posts violating copyrights or trademarks • Advertisement or promotion of commercial products, services, entities, or individuals • Duplicative comments by the same user. In the case of identical comments only the first submission will be posted. Users who habitually post comments or content that must be removed can be blocked from the comment section.
All The Daily Utah Chronicle Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *