U professors, affiliates sweep governor’s medals

By By Natalie Hale

By Natalie Hale

The 2006 Utah Governor’s Medal winners were announced mid-November and four of the seven recipients in the science and technology category are from the U.

The medals were awarded to individuals at the U involved in areas of academic research and industry.

Anil Virkar, professor and chair in the materials science and engineering department, was awarded a medal in the category of academic research.

Virkar is responsible for more than 200 publications and more than 35 patents.

Internationally recognized in the fields of solid oxide fuel cell technology and ceramic materials, Vikar has contributed substantially to the field.

Pierre Sokolsky, a chairman and professor in the U department of physics, was also nominated within the academic research category.

Sokosky is recognized as one of the world’s leaders in high-energy particle astrophysics.

Sokosky led a team that discovered the highest energy astrophysical event ever recorded.

Jan Miller, an Ivor Thomas professor in metallurgical engineering, was also a winner.

Inventor of Air Sparged Hydrocyclone technology, Miller has 31 patents to his credit.

With more than 460 research publications to his name and seven edited books, Miller is one of the largest royalty earners for the U.

Winner of a medal in the category of industry was Glenn D. Prestwich, a presidential professor of medicinal chemistry at the U.

Prestwich has created several companies in Utah that have acquired more than $44 million through various mergers and investments.

He has more than 240 publications to his credit and 20 patent applications.